TTIL / Madrid System / Madrid Protocol Enters into Force in Indonesia on January 2, 2018

Announcement Description

​Madrid Protocol Enters into Force in Indonesia on January 2, 2018

On October 2, 2017, the Government of Indonesia deposited with the Director General of WIPO its instrument of accession to the Madrid Protocol, making Indonesia the 100th member of the Madrid Union and thus of the Madrid System.  The Protocol will enter into force in Indonesia on January 2, 2018.  The page on the WIPO website devoted to the accession of Indonesia may be found here.

Of the ten ASEAN Member States, eight (Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Phillipines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam) have joined the Madrid System, and two (Malaysia and Myanmar) have yet to do so.  

All ASEAN Member States have committed to accede to the Madrid Protocol in accordance with the "ASEAN Economic Community 2025 Consolidated Strategic Action Plan (CSAP)," a document containing "key action lines" for achieving economic integration pursuant to the "ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) Blueprint 2025."  More information on the AEC may be found here.




Created at 10/3/2017 11:13 PM by Alan Datri
Last modified at 11/19/2017 9:22 AM by Alan Datri