Navigate Up
Sign In

AIPLA Congratulates Winners of the 42nd Annual Giles S. Rich Moot Court Competition


May 7, 2015, Arlington, VA, -- Law students Brian J. Springer and Gregory J. Manasof the University of Pennsylvania Law School, earned the first place prize of $2,000 in the American Intellectual Property Law Association's 42nd annual Giles S. Rich Memorial Moot Court Competition.  Students Kathryn L. Smits and Adam B. Peck, of Columbia Law School, took runner-up honors and received the second place prize of $1,000, sponsored by Kirkland and Ellis, LLP.
After regional competitions of nearly 80 law schools, students from ten law schools earned the opportunity to argue at the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in the competition's national final rounds, which took place on April 15-17 in Washington, D.C. AIPLA was honored to have  Judge Alan D. Lourie, Judge Timothy B. Dyk, and Judge Raymond T. Chen of the Federal Circuit preside over the final round of the competition.

AIPLA congratulates all participants in this year's competition and thanks everyone involved for their time and effort in helping to make this competition a success.
The Giles S. Rich Memorial Moot Court Competition begins each year with regional competitions judged by panels of panels of distinguished judges and experienced attorneys, from the federal government and the private sector. This year's competition saw the addition of a new southeastern region in Atlanta, GA, joining the annual regional competitions in Houston, Silicon Valley, Chicago, and Boston.
AIPLA, the American Intellectual Property Law Association, was founded in 1897 to maintain a high standard of professional ethics, to aid in the improvement in laws relating to intellectual property and in their proper interpretation by the courts,and to provide legal education to the public and to its members on intellectual property issues. AIPLA is a national bar association constituted primarily of lawyers in private and corporate practice, in government service, and in the academic community.
Communications Specialist
1 703.412.1315