Navigate Up
Sign In

Moot Court Competition

The AIPLA Giles Sutherland Rich Moot Court Competition is celebrating its 44th year in 2017. Named for a member of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit who was the most distinguished jurist in the field of patent law in the world.   

The competition is divided into five regional competitions followed by a national competition among the top two teams from each region.

 "Presenting an appeal from a District Court judgment of design patent infringement and IP contract breach in a case captioned “Syrus v. SQUARE."



The National First Place winners of the AIPLA Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Award will receive $2,000. These awards are sponsored by the AIPLA Fellows.

The National Second Place winners of the Irving Marcus Award will receive $1,000.

Awards are presented at the AIPLA National Meeting in Washington, D.C. each September.​​​