Navigate Up
Sign In

56th Intel International Science and Engineering Fair

by Patricia E. McQueeney, May 8-13, 2005, Phoenix, Arizona


The 56th Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) was held May 8-13, 2005 in Phoenix, Arizona. ISEF is a competition that takes place each May in a different city and attracts top high school students from around the world. Science Service administers and Intel Corporation sponsors ISEF each year.

The winners, including the world’s brightest high school science and engineering students, were awarded more than $3 million in scholarships and prizes. Over 1400 students participated in this year’s ISEF that included students from the United States and 41 countries. A number of the students have patents pending related to their projects.

Several awards are presented at ISEF. The “Grand Awards” are presented in various scientific categories and include scholarships, tuition grants, and scientific field trips. In addition to the “Grand Awards,” “Special Awards” are presented by numerous sponsoring organizations, including the AIPLA. Special Awards include scholarships, summer internships, book and equipment grants, scientific field trips, certificates, and cash awards.

Judging on behalf of the AIPLA this year were two members of the Young Lawyers Committee:  Suzette M. Marteny from Carlton Fields, Tampa, Florida, and Patricia McQueeney from Brinkley, McNerney, Morgan, Solomon & Tatum LLP, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida. This year’s Special Awards were presented Thursday, May 12, 2005 by lead judges representing the sponsoring organization. Patricia McQueeney presented the AIPLA awards to the students at the Special Awards Ceremony.

This year, AIPLA awarded two “First Awards” of $1,000 and two “Second Awards” of $250, in addition to presenting a certificate to each of the students.

The AIPLA award winners, in the accompanying pictures with Patricia McQueeney, were “First Award” winners Elyse Autumn Hope of Portland, Oregon for “Creating a Novel Program for Determining the Three-Dimensional Movement Rates of Sunspots and Active Solar Magnetic Regions: Year 2" and Kayla Marie Cornale of Burlington, Ontario, Canada for “Sounds into Syllables: A Teaching System for Children with Autism," and “Second Award” winners Douglas Calvin Naftz of Park City, Utah for “A Novel, Cost Effective Approach for Removing Arsenic from Drinking Water in Bangladesh” and the team of John Thomas Thurmon, Rhett Lee Rumery and Lucas James Cavin, all of Chillicothe, Missouri for “The Development of an Aquatic Prosthesis for SCUBA and Skin Diving.” 



(second row, left to right) Douglas Naftz, Rhett Rumery, Lucas Cavin, John Thurmon
(first row, left to right) Patricia McQueeney, Elyse Hop, Kayla Cornale


(second row, left to right) Rhett Rumery, Lucas Cavin, John Thurmon
(first row, left to right) Patricia McQueeney, Douglas Naftz


 (left to right) Patricia McQueeney, Elyse Hop, Kayla Cornale