Sign In


The mission of the Mentoring Committee is to foster involvement in AIPLA by bringing together experienced AIPLA members with junior AIPLA members.  The pairings ideally encourage involvement, participation, and retention in AIPLA.  The pairings encourage feedback from mentees as to what they are seeking with AIPLA membership and how the experience AIPLA member can direct the junior member towards those goals.

Click here to learn more and become a mentor or mentee.

Mentoring Committee Report.doc.docxMentoring Committee Report.doc.docx



 Committee Announcements

Announcement Description

The Mentoring Committee hosted a joint meeting with the New Lawyers Committee at the 2014 AIPLA annual meeting.  During the first half of the meeting, a panel consisting of Jenae Gureff of Cantor Coburn, Kristin Whidby of Fried Frank, and Joshua Kresh of Shearman & Sterling introduced attendees to the mentoring program for new AIPLA members run by the Mentoring Committee and the mentoring program for law students run by the New Lawyers Committee.  The panel discussion moderated by Debodhonyaa Sengupta of Sughrue Mion touched on various aspects of both mentoring programs, including the opportunity to get more involved with AIPLA by participating in either program.  The panel was followed by a break-out session where distinguished  mentors from both the Mentoring and New Lawyers Committees met with the attendees in groups to follow-up on issues raised during the panel discussion.  The break-out sessions were led by Rob Wells, Frank Gerratna, Theresa Gresl, W. Reid Morris and Liz Burke.  A very successful joint committee meeting was followed by a networking reception sponsored by Sughrue Mion during which the attendees had the opportunity to mingle with members of the Mentoring and New Lawyers Committees.  During the meeting, the Mentoring Committee also awarded the Mentor of the Year and Klitzman awards.  The Mentor of the Year is awarded annually to an outstanding mentor based on feedback from the mentees participating in the mentoring program.  This year’s recipient of the Mentor of the Year award was Mitchell J. Weinstein of Levenfeld Pearlstein.  The Klitzman is awarded annually to a junior corporate counsel, who is then mentored by an experienced AIPLA member for the duration of the annual meeting.   This year’s recipient of the Klitzman award was Morgan Jones of Shamrock Technologies.​


LAW STUDENTS: If you are looking for a Mentor, please contact the Law Student Committee for a student-specific mentor pairing.​