Description: USPTOLogo

 

 

 

The United States Patent and Trademark Office

The First Bicoastal Biotechnology,
Chemical and Pharmaceutical (BCBCP)
Partnership Meeting


Wednesday, September 17, 2014

9:00am to 2:00pm (PDT)

12:00pm to 5:00pm (EDT)

 

 

We are pleased to announce the USPTO’s first Bicoastal Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership (BCBCP) Meeting. This inaugural BCBCP expands our long-standing partnership in this industry sector to customers across the country. The next BCBCP Meeting will be held on September 17th and will be simultaneously available at locations on both the EAST (Alexandria, VA) and West (San Jose, CA) coasts.   During the BCBCP, participants will be able to interact with Office personnel in person on both coasts, or alternatively, via webcast. Please see below for registration information on how you can participate.

 

Date and Location:  The Partnership Meeting will be held on September 17th from 12:00pm – 5:00pm on the east coast and, at the same time, from 9:00am – 2:00pm on the west coast.

 


East Coast Location:

USPTO Headquarters

Madison Auditorium

600 Dulany Street

Alexandria, VA


West Coast Location:

San Jose State University

College of Engineering
Conference Room E285/287

San Jose, CA


The Biotechnology, and Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership was developed to create a collaborative forum for USPTO customers in this industry sector to share ideas, experiences, and insights with USPTO staff.  The BCBCP is intended to be informal in nature and will include participants from across the industry. 


Some of the topics to be discussed by USPTO staff and industry customers will include:

·      Markush claim practice

·      Patent application filing best practices

·      RCE practice

·      Overview of patent application initiatives

·      Panel discussion on U.S. Supreme Court decisions
(e.g. Alice Corp., v. Cls Bank International. 134 S. Ct. 1537 (Supreme Court March 21, 2014); and Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc., 133 S. Ct. 2107, 186 L.Ed. 2d 124 (2013))

 

 

9:00-9:10am (PDT)

12:00 – 12:10pm (EDT)

 

Welcoming Remarks (Introduction to the Inaugural BCBCP)

 

Margaret A. (Peggy) Focarino, Commissioner for Patents, USPTO

(Alexandria)

9:10 – 9:30am (PDT)

12:10-12:30pm (EDT)

Opening Remarks

John Cabeca,

Director, Silicon Valley Office, USPTO (San Jose)

 

 

Jerry Lorengo

Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

 

Dan Sullivan

Director, TC1600, USPTO (San Jose)

 

 

Wanda Walker

Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

 

9:30 – 10:20am (PDT)

12:30-1:20pm (EDT)

Improper Markush 

Joe Mallon

Partner, Knobbe, Martens, Olson & Bear, LLP (San Jose)

 

10:20 – 10:30am (PDT)

1:20-1:30pm (EDT)

Break

 

 

 

 

10:30-11:10am (PDT)

1:30 – 2:10pm (EDT)

 

 

OPAP Procedure and Tips

 

 

Kevin Little

Office of Patent Application Processing (OPAP), USPTO

(Alexandria)

 

 

11:10-11:40am (PDT)

2:10 – 2:40pm (EDT)

 

RCE Statistics and Reduction Initiatives

Brief Overview of AFCP 2.0 & QPIDS, and other Patent Application Initiatives)

 

 

 

Directors, TC1600 and Silicon Valley Office, USPTO

 

 

 

11:40am –12:40pm (PDT)

2:40-3:40pm (EDT)

Discussion (Lunch West Coast)

Discussion (East Coast)

 

 

Directors, TC1600 and Silicon Valley Office, USPTO

 

 

 

12:40 –12:50pm (PDT)

3:40-3:50pm (EDT)

 

Break

 

 

 

12:50-1:50pm (PDT)

3:50-4:50pm (EDT)

Myriad Guidance and CLS Decision

 

Panelists:

 

Paul Naik

Vice President, Intellectual Property, Genentech, Inc. (San Jose)

 

Suzannah K. Sundby,

Partner, Canady & Lortz LLP (Alexandria)

 

Jeffery Tung

Patent Counsel, Isis Pharmaceuticals (San Jose)

 

June Cohan

Legal Advisory,  OPLA, USPTO (Alexandria)

 

Jerry Lorengo

Director, TC 1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

 

Dan Sullivan

Director, TC1600, USPTO (San Jose)

 

 

1:50-2:00pm (PDT)

4:50-5:00pm (EDT)

Closing Remarks/Discussion

John Cabeca,

Director, Silicon Valley Office, USPTO

 

Jerry Lorengo

Director, TC1600, USPTO

 

Dan Sullivan

Director, TC1600, USPTO

 

Wanda Walker

Director, TC1600, USPTO

 

 

 

The USPTO looks forward to hearing the individual views from its customers and does not intend to use this forum to seek or arrive at any consensus.  This customer partnership is formed with full recognition of the USPTO's responsibility under the Federal Advisory Committee Act (FACA), and accordingly, is not established as FACA compliant committee. 

                                                           

 

Registration Information

 

Please email USPTOBCP1600@USPTO.GOV to register by September, 12th. Please include “BCP Registration” in the email subject line.  In the email body, please include the following information:

·      Your name, title and organization

·      Contact information (e-mail, phone, etc.)

·      Your attending location (Alexandria, San Jose, or online).

 

 

Directions and Parking information

 

East Coast Location: USPTO Headquarters, Alexandria, Virginia        

·    Directions: http://www.uspto.gov/about/contacts/locations/directions.jsp

·    Campus map: http://www.uspto.gov/about/locations/alexandriaoffice.jsp

·    Parking options: http://www.uspto.gov/about/contacts/locations/directions.jsp#heading-6

 

West Coast location: San Jose University College of Engineering, San Jose, California

 

·      Directions: http://www.sjsu.edu/map/directions/

·      Campus map: http://www.sjsu.edu/map/docs/SJSU_campus_map.pdf (B3-Engineering Building)

·      Parking Options:

o   On campus parking: http://www.sjsu.edu/parking/maps/garages/index.html

o   Campus map with parking garages: http://www.sjsu.edu/map/  

o   Off campus parking garages: (Closest: Fourth Street Garage at San Fernando):  http://sjdowntownparking.com/parking-map

 

For information on past and future meetings and presentations, please go to http://www.aipla.org/committees/committee_pages/Biotechnology/usptobcp/default.aspx

and

http://www.uspto.gov/patents/init_events/bcp/index.jsp

 

 

 See the BCP's PTO web page http://www.uspto.gov/web/patents/biochempharm/  for the official announcement for the next meeting close to the final date.

For questions about obtaining these materials
contact Sue Liu at SueX.Liu@USPTO.GOV

To be placed on the BCP's e-mail announcement list 
contact Sue Liu at SueX.Liu@USPTO.GOV

   Prior Meetings

  Meeting, April 16, 2014 _ PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting, December 9, 2013 _ PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting, September 10, 2013 _ PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  January 29, 2013  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  September 5, 2012  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  June 6, 2012  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  March 6, 2012  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  December 1, 2011  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  September 13, 2011  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  June 8, 2011  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  March 2, 2011  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  December 8, 2010  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  September 8, 2010  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  June 1, 2010  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  March 2, 2010  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  December 9, 2009  - PowerPoint slides are here

  Meeting  September 2, 2009  - Power Point slides are here

  Meeting  June 2, 2009  - Power Point slides are here

  Meeting  March 3, 2009  - Power Point slides are here

   Meeting  December 3, 2008  - Power Point slides are here

   Meeting  September 9, 2008  - Power Point slides are here

   Meeting  June 4, 2008  - Power Point slides are here

   Meeting  March 12, 2008  - Power Point slides are here    

    Meeting  December 4,  2007  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting  September 12, 2007  - Power Point slides are here

   Meeting  June 13, 2007  - Power Point slides are here

   Meeting  March 6, 2007  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting  December 5, 2006  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting  September 13, 2006  -
Power Point slides are here

   Meeting  June 13, 2006  - Power Point slides are here    

    Meeting  March 7, 2006  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting November 10, 2005  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting June 15, 2005  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting March 15, 2005  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting December 8, 2004  - Power Point slides are here

    Extra AIPLA Oct. 2004 -  Power Point slides are here 

    Meeting August 3, 2004  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting April 27, 2004  - Power Point slides are here

   Meeting February 3, 2004  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting October 29, 2003  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting July 29, 2003  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting April 29, 2003  - Power Point slides are here

   Meeting January 14, 2003  - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting October 8, 2002 - Power Point slides are here

    Meeting July 9, 2002  - PTO site here has Agenda, but no links to the presentations

    Meeting March 19, 2002  - PTO site here has a notice for meeting, but no Agenda

   Meeting November 15, 2001  - PTO site here (link hidden to public) has Power Point slides 

    Meeting August 7, 2001  - PTO site here (link hidden to public) has Power Point slides

    Meeting April 17, 2001  - Power Point slides are here