Biotechnology/Chemical/Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership

 

 

THURSDAY, June 30, 2016

United States Patent and Trademark Office

USPTO Main Campus (Alexandria), Madison Auditorium

Texas Regional Office (Dallas), Conference Room 5150

 

 

Recommended Standard for the Presentation of Nucleotide and Amino Acid Sequence Listings using XML

Sue Wolski

10:00 – 10:10am (EDT)

09:00 – 09:10am (CDT)

Welcoming and Opening Remarks

Hope Shimabuku, Director, Dallas Regional Office, USPTO

(Dallas)

 

Jerry Lorengo

Director, TC1600, USPTO

(Dallas)

 

Daniel Sullivan

Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

 

Wanda Walker

Director, TC1600, USPTO (Alexandria)

 

 

10:10 – 11:00am (EDT)

09:10 – 10:00am (CDT)

Stakeholders' Perspective On Patent Quality Initiative

Frank P. Grassler,

VP for Technology Development, Office of Technology Development, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center (Dallas)

 

 

 

 

11:00 – 11:50am (EDT)

10:00 – 10:50am (CDT)

Inter Partes Review/Post Grant Review: Status Report and Overview of the New Rules

Lora Green, Administrative Patent Judge, PTAB, USPTO (Alexandria)

 

 

 

11:50am – 12:00pm (EDT)

10:50 – 11:00am (CDT)

 

BREAK

 

BREAK

 

12:00 – 12:40pm (EDT)

11:00 – 11:40am (CDT)

Biological Deposit

 

Gary Benzion, SPE, TC1600

(Alexandria)

 

 

 

12:40 – 1:00pm (EDT)

11:40am – 12:00pm (CDT)

TC Pendency

Brandon Fetterolf, SME/SPE, TC1600 (Alexandria)

 

 

 

1:001:45pm (EDT)

12:0012:45pm (CDT)

LUNCH

 

 

 

 

 

1:45 – 3:15pm (EDT)

12:45 – 2:15pm (CDT)

 

101 New Examples; Workshop Handout

Marjorie Moran, SME/SPE, TC1600 (Dallas)

Zachariah Lucas, QAS, TC1600

(Alexandria)

 

 

 

3:15 – 3:35pm (EDT)

2:15 – 2:35pm (CDT)

 

Subject Matter Eligibility, A Stakeholderˇ¦s Perspective

Leslie Fischer, Senior Patent Attorney, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation

(Alexandria)

 

 

 

3:35 – 3:50pm (EDT)

2:35 – 2:50pm (CDT)

 

BREAK

 

BREAK

 

3:50 – 4:50pm (EDT)

2:50 – 3:50pm (CDT)

 

Subject Matter Eligibility,

Panel Discussion

Leslie Fischer, Senior Patent Attorney, Novartis Pharmaceuticals Corporation

(Alexandria)

 

Robert Bahr, Deputy Commissioner for Patent Examination Policy, USPTO (Alexandria)

 

TC1600 Directors

 

 

 

4:50 – 5:00pm (EDT)

3:50 – 4:00pm (CDT)

 

Closing Remarks

TC1600 and Dallas Regional Office Directors

We are pleased to announce the USPTOˇ¦s next Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership (BCP) Meeting. This BCP meeting expands our long-standing partnership in these industry sectors to customers across the country. The BCP Meeting will be held on June 30, 2016 and will be simultaneously available at locations in the USPTO Headquarters (Alexandria, VA) and the Texas Regional Office (Dallas, TX). During this BCP, participants will be able to interact with Office personnel in person at both locations, or alternatively, via webcast. Please see below for RSVP information on how you can participate.

Date and Location: The Partnership Meeting will be held on

 

June 30th (Thursday) from 10:00am – 5:00pm (EDT) at Alexandria, VA and, at the same time (9:00am – 4:00pm CDT), at Dallas, TX.

 

Headquarters Location:

USPTO Headquarters

Madison Auditorium

400 Dulany Street

Alexandria, VA 22314

 

Texas Regional Office Location:

USPTO Texas Regional Office

207 South Houston St., Suite 159

Dallas, Texas 75202

 

The Biotechnology, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Customer Partnership was developed to create a collaborative forum for USPTO customers in this industry sector to share ideas, experiences, and insights with USPTO staff. The BCP is intended to be informal in nature and will include participants from across the industry.

 

Registration Information

Please email USPTOBCP1600@USPTO.GOV to RSVP by April, 20th. Please include ˇ§BCP RSVPˇ¨ in the email subject line. In the email body, please include the following information:

• Your name, title and organization

• Contact information (e-mail, phone, etc.)

• Your attending location (In Person or online).

 

Directions and Parking information

Headquarters Location: USPTO Headquarters, Alexandria, Virginia

• Directions: http://www.uspto.gov/about/contacts/locations/directions.jsp

• Campus map: http://www.uspto.gov/about/locations/alexandriaoffice.jsp

• Parking options: http://www.uspto.gov/about/contacts/locations/directions.jsp - heading-6

 

Dallas location: 207 South Houston St., Suite 159, Dallas, TX 75202 • Parking Options and Building Access:

http://www.uspto.gov/about-us/uspto-locations/dallas-texas

 

 

For information on past and future meetings and presentations, please go to http://www.aipla.org/committees/committee_pages/Biotechnology/usptobcp/default.aspx

and http://www.uspto.gov/patents/init_events/bcp/index.jsp

 

 

 See the BCP's PTO web page http://www.uspto.gov/web/patents/biochempharm/  for the official announcement for the next meeting close to the final date.

For questions about obtaining these materials

contact Sue Liu at SueX.Liu@USPTO.GOV

To be placed on the BCP's e-mail announcement list 

contact Sue Liu at SueX.Liu@USPTO.GOV

 

Prior Meetings

Meeting, April 26, 2016_ PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting, September 14, 2015_ PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting, April 7, 2015_ PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting, September 17, 2014 _ PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting, April 16, 2014 _ PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting, December 9, 2013 _ PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting, September 10, 2013 _ PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  January 29, 2013  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  September 5, 2012  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  June 6, 2012  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  March 6, 2012  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  December 1, 2011  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  September 13, 2011  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  June 8, 2011  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  March 2, 2011  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  December 8, 2010  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  September 8, 2010  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  June 1, 2010  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  March 2, 2010  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  December 9, 2009  - PowerPoint slides are here

Meeting  September 2, 2009  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  June 2, 2009  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  March 3, 2009  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  December 3, 2008  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  September 9, 2008  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  June 4, 2008  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  March 12, 2008  - Power Point slides are here    

Meeting  December 4,  2007  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  September 12, 2007  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  June 13, 2007  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  March 6, 2007  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  December 5, 2006  - Power Point slides are here
Meeting  September 13, 2006  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting  June 13, 2006  - Power Point slides are here    

Meeting  March 7, 2006  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting November 10, 2005  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting June 15, 2005  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting March 15, 2005  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting December 8, 2004  - Power Point slides are here

Extra AIPLA Oct. 2004 -  Power Point slides are here 

Meeting August 3, 2004  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting April 27, 2004  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting February 3, 2004  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting October 29, 2003  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting July 29, 2003  - Power Point slides are here
Meeting April 29, 2003  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting January 14, 2003  - Power Point slides are here

Meeting October 8, 2002 - Power Point slides are here

Meeting July 9, 2002  - PTO site here has Agenda, but no links to the presentations

Meeting March 19, 2002  - PTO site here has a notice for meeting, but no Agenda

Meeting November 15, 2001  - PTO site here (link hidden to public) has Power Point slides 

Meeting August 7, 2001  - PTO site here (link hidden to public) has Power Point slides

Meeting April 17, 2001  - Power Point slides are here