Navigate Up
Sign In


Media Contact:

Meghan Donohoe




AIPLA Welcomes New President and Directors for 2016-2017   


Nov. 3, 2016, Arlington, VA – The American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA) installed its 2016-17 Board of Directors at the 2016 Annual Meeting in Washington, DC, Oct. 27-29. Mark L. Whitaker, a partner with Morrison & Foerster, LLP, Washington, DC, will serve as this year’s president. In this role, Mr. Whitaker will serve as the chair of the Executive Committee consisting of the other officers of the Association.   


AIPLA is governed by a 19-person Board of Directors comprised of officers and board members. Each year, four new board members are elected to serve a three-year term.


Officers 2016-2017

  •     President: Mark L. Whitaker, Morrison & Foerster, LLP, Washington, DC
  •         President-Elect: Myra H. McCormack, Johnson & Johnson, New Brunswick, NJ
  •         First Vice President: Sheldon H. Klein, Gray Plant Mooty, Washington, DC
  •         Second Vice President: Barbara A. Fiacco, Foley Hoag, LLP, Boston, MA
  •         Immediate Past President: Denise W. DeFranco, Johnson & Johnson, New Brunswick, NJ
  •         Secretary: Kim Van Voorhis, Nike, Inc., Beaverton, OH
  •         Treasurer: Brian H. Batzli, Merchant & Gould, PC, Minneapolis, MN

Newly Elected Members of the Board of Directors

  •         Valerie L. Calloway, Alltech, Inc., Nicholasville, KY
  •        Jacques (Jack) L. Etkowicz, RatnerPrestia, Valley Forge, PA
  •         Jennifer L. Kovalcik, Stites & Harbison, PLLC, Nashville, TN
  •         Brad Pederson, Patterson Thuente IP, Minneapolis, MN

Continuing Members of the Board of Directors

  •         Gregory D. Allen, 3M innovative Properties Company, St. Paul, MN
  •         Salvatore (Sal) Anastasi, Barley Snyder, Malvern, PA
  •         Monica M. Barone, Qualcomm Incorporated, San Diego, CA
  •         Patrick J. Coyne, Finnegan Henderson Farabow Garrett & Dunner, LLP, Washington, DC
  •         Nicholas P. Godici, Godici Patent Consulting, Carlsbad, CA
  •         James D. Hallenbeck, Schwegman Lundberg & Woessner, P.A., Minneapolis, MN
  •         Nancy J. Mertzel, Herrick, Feinstein, LLP, New York, NY
  •         Thomas T. Moga, LeClairRyan, Dearborn, MI

 # # #


Media note: Photos of the AIPLA Executive Committee and individual directors are available upon request.

AIPLA. The American Intellectual Property Law Association was founded in 1897 to maintain a high standard of professional ethics, to aid in the improvement of laws relating to intellectual property and in their proper interpretation by the courts, and to provide legal education to the public and to its members on intellectual property issues. AIPLA is a national bar association constituted primarily of lawyers in private and corporate practice, in government service, and in the academic community.

 American Intellectual Property Law Association 

1400 Crystal Drive, Suite 600, Arlington, VA  22202 | T: +1.703.415.0780 | F: +1.703.415.0786 |​