Navigate Up
Sign In

AIPLA Announces National Moot Court Competition Winners

University of Texas Wins  AIPLA Moot Court Competition

Law students from the University of Texas School of Law took first place in the
2013 AIPLA Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Moot Court Competition, April 19 in Washington, DC. Students Colleen Bloss and Yingying Zeng won the first place prize of $2,000. Students J. Taylor Gooch and Ben Sirolly of The University of Pennsylvania Law School took runner-up honors and received the Irving Marcus Award of $1,000, sponsored by Oblon Spivak McClelland and Neustadt, LLP.
The competition begins each year with regional competitions. Nearly 80 law schools participated in competitions in April in Houston, TX, Silicon Valley, CA, Chicago, IL and Boston, MA. From there, eight law schools came to Washington, DC to participate in the finals.The finals consisted of quarter-final, a semi-final and a final round of competition. The finalists argued the case before Judge Newman, Jude Plager and Judge Lourie, of the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. 
This year marked the 40th anniversary of the AIPLA Giles Sutherland Rich Memorial Moot Court Competition. 
AIPLA, the American Intellectual Property Law Association, was founded in 1897 to maintain a high standard of professional ethics, to aid in the improvement in laws relating to intellectual property and in their proper interpretation by the courts, and to provide legal education to the public and to its members on intellectual property issues. AIPLA is a national bar association constituted primarily of lawyers in private and corporate practice, in government service, and in the academic community. 
AIPLA Contact
Lorri Lee Ragan, APR
Director of Marketing & Communications
1 703.412.1308