Navigate Up
Sign In

AIPLA Announces 2015-2016 Award Winners at Annual Meeting



October 28, 2015, Arlington, VA - The American Intellectual Property Law Association (AIPLA) bestowed its highest awards on professionals in the IP industry during the 2015 Annual Meeting, October 22-24 in Washington, DC. The following awards were presented:
AIPLA Board of Director's Excellence Award
This is AIPLA's highest award, and is presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions fostering intellectual property law.
The Honorable Richard Linn, Circuit Judge at the US Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, received the Board of Director's Excellence Award in recognition of his extraordinary leadership and service to the intellectual property community, and a distinguished career marked by intellect, integrity, and an unwavering commitment to the administration of justice.
President's Outstanding Service Award, for Fostering AIPLA's Mission and Goals
Barbara Fiacco of Foley Hoag, LLP, received the President's Outstanding Achievement Award in recognition of, and with gratitude for, her years of service to AIPLA as a Board Member, Committee leader and willing volunteer, including her leadership of the Committee on Legislation and her authorship of amicus briefs and other submissions.
Project Awards, recognition for extraordinary effort on a project for AIPLA
The Women in IP Law Committee received a project award in recognition of their outstanding service to AIPLA, particularly their leadership in the 2015 National and International Women in IP Law Networking Event, which was hosted in 64 locations in more than 19 countries. Hathaway Pease Russell of Foley Hoag LLP served as the Chair of the Committee, and Carol E. Thorstad-Forsyth of Fox Rothschild LLP and Yelena Morozova of Gill, Jennings & Every, LLP served as Co-Chairs of the Event.
Mentor of the Year, for Excellence in Serving as a Mentor
Troy Grabow of Cabeau, Inc., was recognized as Mentor of the Year.
Committee of the Year
The Trade Secret Law Committee won the Committee of the Year award. John Marsh of Hahn Loeser & Parks LLP served as the Chair of the Committee and Russel Beck of Beck Reed Riden LLP served as the Vice-Chair.
Maurice Klitzman Award
Olivia Scheuer of IBM, received the Maurice Klitzman Award, recognizing a junior corporate attorney or patent agent.
Robert C. Watson Award
Jordan Klimek of Harvard Law School won the Robert C. Watson Award, recognizing a student for a paper on an IP issue, for his paper entitled, "Patents as Regulations: How the America Invents Act and the Seminole Rock Doctrine Could Change Claim Construction after Teva v. Sandoz."
The Jan Jancin Competition, recognizing law students, nominated by their schools, who have excelled in the study of intellectual property law
Sarah Mizra of Santa Clara University School of Law received the Jan Jancin Award at the ABA Annual Meeting this summer.  
Past Presidents Award, the second place award in the Jan Jancin Competition
Charles Mitchell of George Washington University Law School received the Past Presidents Award.
AIPLA, the American Intellectual Property Law Association, was founded in 1897 to maintain a high standard of professional ethics, to aid in the improvement in laws relating to intellectual property and in their proper interpretation by the courts, and to provide legal education to the public and to its members on intellectual property issues. AIPLA is a national bar association constituted primarily of lawyers in private and corporate practice, in government service, and in the academic community.  

Erin (Sheehan) Wainwright

Communications Specialist