Navigate Up
Sign In


AIPLA is governed by a Board of Directors comprised of Association members and supported by a staff of 24.  Click the links to the left to learn more about AIPLA and its governance.​  


 Meet the AIPLA 2016-17 President


Mark L. Whitaker
AIPLA President | 2016-2017

A partner in the Washington, DC-based firm Morrison & Foerster LLP, Mr. Whitaker has acquired more than 26 years of litigation experience over the course of his distinctive career in IP law. Since joining AIPLA in 2000, he has taken a very proactive role in the advancement of the Association community and the profession through participation in several of AIPLA’s committees. Mr. Whitaker’s service to the AIPLA Board of Directors commenced in 2008.

A veteran of the US Navy, Mr. Whitaker served first as a surface warfare officer and later as a member of the Navy Judge Advocate General’s Corps. Following his military service, he began his private-practice legal career as a commercial litigator before concentrating on IP and technology litigation.

The AIPLA presidency is a one-year voluntary leadership position.

Learn more about Mr. Whitaker and the 2016-2017 Board of Directors:

The nominations for 2017-2018 have been announced.  Click the following document link to view the letter sent to all AIPLA members. 2017-2018 Nominations Letter.pdf2017-2018 Nominations Letter.pdf